Beauty Bar NYC

Thursday was another gorgeous day. I know I keep saying that, but I just think sunny and 70 degrees is the most perfect weather. I can’t wait until the leaves start changing colors!

Unfortunately, I was feeling pretty down for most of the day. I’ve been dealing with some personal issues over the last few weeks and it hasn’t been very fun :-( Anywayyy, I decided to wear one of my favorite outfits to cheer myself up (including my leopard print flats). I think it helped a little!

Breakfast was the usual coffee (made at home) and Oikos greek yogurt, 1 Tbs PB2, a sliced banana, and 2 servings of Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise when I sat down at my desk. I love mixing PB2 into my yogurt – it doesn’t get much better than creamy, cold, peanut butter flavored yogurt!

Breakfast bowl

During my lunch break I walked to my former lanlord’s office to retrieve my security deposit. Yay, my bank account is happy again! The walk was about 2 miles round-trip and it was a lovely mid-day break. I passed a greenmarket on my way back – I wanted to buy everything!

Beautiful plump blackberries, brussel sprouts, and heirloom tomatoes:

NYC Greenmarket

A sample of a Honeycrisp apple, yum!

Honeycrisp apple

Three ripe Jersey peaches:

Pictures 004

Lunch was a particularly colorful and yummy cafeteria salad:

Salad

  • romaine, carrots, red onion, mushroom, sliced tomato
  • pinto beans with spinach and sun-dried tomatoes
  • tasting of pesto primavera pasta salad
  • feta, whole grain croutons, dried cranberries
  • 1-2 Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

Afternoon snackie was a bag of Stacy’s pita chips:

Stacy's pita chips

After work, I hit the gym for a quick strength workout and a long hot shower. My mini-workout: 3 x 10 push-ups, 3 x 10 tricep dips, 3 x 10 lunges & calf raises, ab work, and some stretching. Short and sweet!

I had plans to meet Agnes for drinks around 7/7:30pm, so I had a good-sized snack as I left the gym: an apple and a cherry pie lara bar. I love the cherry pie flavor! I like the pb&j variety, but the peanut butter flavor really overpowers the cherry jam flavor.

apple

Lara bar

Finally, I arrived at Beauty Bar!

Beauty Bar NYC

Beauty Bar is decked out like a 1950’s beauty parlor – complete with old-fashioned hair dryers, manequins, and $10 manicures. So cute for a girls night out!

Agnes and I both started off with Blue Moon beers:

Megan & Agnes

And then I decided to get my nails done! $10 gets you a manicure and a cocktail – I chose the 3 olive martini for Agnes and I to split. It was quite strong!

3 Olive Martini

Getting my nails did (holla Missy Elliot):

Manicure at Beauty Bar

Beauty Bar

After 1.5 drinks, I knew it was time for my to call it a night. When did I become such a grandma??!! Anyway, once I arrived home I was s-t-a-r-v-i-n-g. I quickly toasted 2 slices of Ezekiel sprouted grain bread and slathered them in Smucker’s Natural pb and strawberry jam. Yum! I promise that I’ll make something more interesting than pb&j soon.

PB & J

Look at the awesome birthday giftie that Agnes gave me – a stirrer for natural peanut butters. She must have known how much I struggled to blend my Smucker’s Natural pb the other night! It wasn’t a pretty scene …oil and peanut butter ended up all over the place. Can’t wait to use my new kitchen toy! Thanks, Agnes :-)

Natural Peanut Butter Mixer

News you can use:

What is normal eating?

Bedtime snacks = packing on the pounds?

Maybe, says the New York Times.

What is “Vitamin I” and could it be hurting you?

Not food or running related, but absolutely hilarious: I love you, Gail Collins.

17 Responses

  1. OMG that beauty parlor looks like so much fun aka, my kind of friend date :)

  2. I’ve always wanted to go to the Beauty Bar! I think I might take my brother’s fiancee there for her bachelorette party!

  3. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of Beauty Bar! What a fun place for a girl’s night! Glad you had some fun. ;)

  4. Beauty Bar sounds like so much fun! A manicure and a drink sound like the perfect friend date!

  5. $10 for a drink and a manicure?! Insane. I REALLY want that PB stirrer! Any idea where she got it?

  6. I was looking for one of those stirrers just the other day but I can’t find them anywhere but online! Did she get hers from a store?

  7. Arggah! So much to comment on!
    I went to Beauty Bar last time I was in New York (this May!) with my girlfriends from England! We loved it!!

    Can we see a picture of said leopard print shoes? I have been looking for some good ones for ages…seriously, where did you find them?!

    Sad face to you feeling blue – it must be super hard. Yay to wearing your fave outfit and rocking out getting your nails did missy style! You look so cute in the pics!

  8. i’ve never actually taken advantage of the “beauty” part of beauty bar, haha. the last time i was there i felt a bit claustrophobic with all the hipsters everywhere… still a neat place, though! and pb&j is my favorite post-drinking snack. always satisfies my craving of savory + sweet! i hope things start looking up and that you feel better soon. :)

  9. Ah! I love Beauty Bar. I think it’s hilarious that it kinda looks like a biker bar but when you get inside it’s a bunch of ladies with martinis waiting to get their nails done, haha. Not the best manicure I’ve ever gotten, but after a few martinis that doesn’t always matter :)

  10. Sorry you’re going through a hard time, that stinks, but good job on trying to pick yourself up! I’ve been to Beauty Bar a few times, but never actually got a mani (I didn’t know a drink was part of the deal)—you’ve inspired me!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  11. ummmm i need a beauty bar in my area. and stat. that looks like so much fun! gosh, i am serious when i say if you can help me find a job in NYC, i am there. then we can be real life friends AND blog friends.

    lotsa love girl. happy labor day weekend!

  12. Ooo that looks like the farmer’s market on 66th St ( Lincoln Sqaure)! That one has had such good peaches this summer:)

  13. So fun! We went to Beauty Bar for part of my bachelorette party and all had a blast!

  14. I hope everything gets better girl! on the upside your shirt is super cute..i totally love it!

    wearing leopard flats fixes everything in my book ! :)

  15. That beauty place look sweet, $10 manicures and drinks! What a fun girls night!

  16. Leopard flats always makes everything better. I think I need to invest in a pair!

    I`m in desperate need of a peanut butter stirrer. When I was buying the regular Jiffy peanut butter, I didn’t need it, but now that I`m buying natural peanut butter and almond butter, I`ve really noticed how bad it seperates. Right now I`m stirring it up with a steak knife when I need to use some. I`m just that awesome in the kitchen. ;)

  17. when using hair dryers, it would be better to use those low wattage types because they are not very damaging to the hair :-:

Leave a Reply

