Let them eat cake!

Happy Tuesday! It’s difficult heading back to work, but I’m trying to make the best of it    :-)

The remainder of my weekend in Wilkes-Barre was lovely. I started off Sunday morning with a sunny breakfast on the back porch: coffee, OJ, and a whole grain bagel with peanut butter & honey.

Sunny breakfast

pb honey bagel

After breakfast, mom and I ventured out on a day full of errands. Our first stop – Sanitary Bakery! If you read my blog often, you may remember my previous visits to this local gem:

Apple caramel walnut pie

St. Patrick’s Day Donuts

4th of July cupcakes and cookies

Mom and I arrived to see that the case was PACKED full of delicious homemade goodies:

Sanitary Bakery

Sanitary Bakery

peanut butter brownies

One of the best things about this bakery is the super-affordable prices. Check out this beautiful red velvet layer cake for $7.99

Sanitary Bakery

And homemade pumpkin and apple cider donuts for 45 cents! Mom and I split one in the  car. Good news: If these baked goods are making your mouth water, Sanitary Bakery apparently delivers nationwide. And no, I am not their official PR person :-)

Apple cider donut

After the bakery, it was time for new running shoes (Asics Gel-Nimbus), Target, and the grocery store. After a few hours of shopping I started to get that annoying shaky, lightheaded feeling. I ate a 1.5 oz pack of mixed nuts and that helped a little, but I didn’t start feeling better until after I had a big bowl of spicy red lentil soup from Wegman’s. I don’t know what’s going on with my blood sugar level lately – it has been dropping very suddenly and making me feel yucky.

emergency snack

red lentil

Once the errands were finished, I camped out on the porch with my laptop. Since I wasn’t feeling well, my mom brought me out a pillow and blanket. I was able to get a wireless signal outside and it was the perfect set-up. Visiting home is a lovely break from grown-up life :-)

thanks, mom!

Dinner was made on the grill and the meal contained 5 different types of vegetables!! I think I was more excited about this than anyone else in my family…I made myself some veggie kabobs (everyone else had chicken + veggies) : grilled green pepper, sweet onion, cherry tomato, and squash with some BBQ sauce on the side. A little low in protein, but I think that’s alright since my lunch (mixed nuts + lentil soup) was full of that good stuff.

For a side dish, Holly the Healthy Everythingtarian was my inspiration!

I washed and quartered 2.5 lbs of baby red potatoes. Then I mixed the potatoes with 1 Tbs canola oil and 1 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Seasoning. I covered a baking sheet with foil and lightly oiled it and then spread the potato chunks on the pan. I roasted the potatoes for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. I stirred everything after about 20 minutes. Makes about 4-5 servings. Yum!

My plate (plus seconds of grilled veggies and potatoes!):

Vegetables

Finally, the best part of the weekend – marble cake with vanilla butter cream icing! Hooray for birthday celebrations that last all week long :-)

Birthday cake

A 5-year old would love this cake.

Cake

With a scoop of neopolitan ice cream:

Cake and ice cream

This cake is delish, but veryyy sweet. After licking the icing from the cake knife and serving platter, I was approaching a sugar coma!

FYI: A study in the Journal of Applied Physiology found that beet juice help us exercise up to 16% longer! The researchers found that the beet’s nitrate content reduced oxygen uptake, which made working out less tiring. Read more about yummy ways to eat your beets!

Cobblers and crisps are a year-round treat, use berries in the summer and apples or pears in the fall. Check out this yummy recipe from Skinny and the City!

Celebrate national yoga month with a FREE one-week pass at a participating studio. Ommm.

12 Responses

  1. I hate to raise the alarms, but have you had a fasting blood glucose test? Does diabetes or hyperglycemia run in the family at all? My only other idea is maybe you’ve been under-fueling (unintentionally) now that you’re running again…hmm…but I hate that shaky icky feeling, it’s scary and bad and evil. I hope you figure it out soon.

  2. mmm the bagel with peanut butter looks delish! I really wish I had one of those pumpkin donuts for lunch…cafeteria food sucks today. I cant wait for Sanitary to sell their AMAZING pumpkin pies this fall <333

  3. happy happy happy birthday at home! yay – i was home too, and it felt SO GOOD.

    thanks for the shoutout mama – hope you enjoyed the taters. that bakery looks ridiculous. i need to go there – pastries are my kryptonite. soooo good!

    happy tuesday dear!

  4. Hey cute lady. Glad you had a stellar birthday celebration continued! That cake looks out of control. Yum. I love the sound of that bakery too! Where can you ever find a whole cake for that cheap these days?!

    Ohhh. PB&honey – I have been eating it like there is no tomorrow on saltine crackers recently! Can’t get enough of the salty/sweet combo!

  5. I’m a sucker for homemade red velvet cake!

  6. I love visiting with my parents because I use it as an excuse to be a total baby. :) Glad you enjoyed! And all those baked goods, mmmm….

  7. I love going home and taking a break from grown-up life, too! It’s such a great stress reliever!

    Hope you had a fantastic birthday; I wish I was only turning 25…

  8. That bakery sounds delicious! Good for you for splitting the doughnut—I don’t think I would have had the same self-control. Hello cinnamon buns!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  9. and how do you pronounce that flavor of ice cream? ;) be prepared for a phone call! i miss you!

  10. o how i love baked goods! :) looks like one amazing weekend! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  11. I’ve always wanted to try beet juice!
    MMM birthday cake, very sweet though, but the eyes always want it!

  12. Happy Birthdayyyyyyyyyy and that red lentil looks amazing…..
    Hope you had a great bday…

    Amie

Leave a Reply

