Central Park Track Club

Yesterday’s attempt at a nap = FAIL, so instead I made some popcorn on the stove top. I put a Tbs of canola oil in a big pot and turned the heat to medium-high. After a minute or so of pre-heating, I added a 1/4 cup of pop corn kernels and shook the pot to make sure they got coated with the oil. I placed the lid back on the pot and waited until the kernels popped. I poured the popcorn in a big bowl and liberally sprinkled it with salt and chili powder. Yum!

Chili Popcorn

Later in the evening it was time to head to the annual Central Park Track Club benefit/fund-raising dinner. Ironically, the event was held at the New York Athletic Club – our biggest rival! I guess they were feeling sportsman-like and gave us a deal on the event space ;-)

NYACAll dressed up!

CPTC

And the open bar + dinner spread was pretty yum:

CPTC Benefit Dinner

I was very pleased with all of the vegetarian options – salad with balsamic vinaigrette, Caprese salad, mixed veggies, and vegetable lasagna (with extra parmesan cheese!).

And white chocolate-macademia cookies for dessert – our table split this plate. Although I’m pretty sure I could have eaten most by myself…

Cookies!

After hearing the guest speaker (legendary coach Frank Gagliano), I checked out the CPTC gear that was for sale.

For Sale

Even though I already have a team uniform and a fair amount of gear, I couldn’t resist a new t-shirt and team sports bra.

CPTC Gear

As we left the event we received sweet goodie bags: magazines, books, luna bars, sports drink powder, gels, gym guest passes, etc. The benefit committee did a really great job soliciting donations!

Goodie Bag!

Before bed my stomach started to grumble a bit. I felt like I was a little low on protein today, so I had a promax bar and a cup of tea before bed. These bars taste delish, but all the fake ingredients kind of sketch me out. I don’t think I’m going to buy them anymore.

Promax

I agreed to run a few miles with some CPTC girls early this morning, so I set my alarm for 5:50am (ugh). Felt kind of yucky at first (wine last night + not much sleep), but once I had some coffee and started running I felt better. Don’t I look excited to be awake??

Megan is excited to be awake at 6am

I ran 6 easy miles in Central Park, lots of rain. I felt pretty good when I finished, but my IT band was a little sore (forgot to wear the pre-wrap today).

As soon as I got back home, I hopped in the shower. It was pouring rain and I looked like a wet dog, hehe.

Breakfast #1: banana and peanut butter (plus some more pb straight outta the jar).

Banana & PB

Breakfast #2: Baked apple-pecan french toast casserole!

Baked French Toast

I based my recipe on a ridiculous Paul Deen concoction, but made it a little healthier :-)

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices of whole wheat bread
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup low-fat milk
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup/brown sugar mixture
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • apple, thinly sliced
  • handful of chopped pecans

Directions:

  • Coat a 8″ x 8″ pan with cooking spray
  • Whisk together the eggs, milk, maple syrup, brown sugar, and cinnamon
  • Place bread slices in pan (they will overlap)
  • Sandwich the apple slices and pecans in between the overlapping bread slices (don’t worry too much about this – if some apple slices are on top, that’s fine)
  • Pour egg mixture over bread slices, cover with plastic wrap, and allow to sit for a few hours in the fridge (overnight is best)
  • Bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes
  • Enjoy warm with extra maple syrup and cinnamon!

Makes 2-3 servings

I’m planning on a much needed yoga class later this afternoon. I’ll be foam rolling my IT band and cozying up with a good book until then.

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend!

8 Responses

  1. french toast + casserole = amazing combination
    I think I know what paula deen recipe that comes from and that is wayy lightened up and still sounds delicious

  2. My life has been similarly peanut-butter focused this weekend. And as for Paula Deen – what can I say? Love it. There was once a website where someone tried to veganize one Paula Deen recipe a week, and it was pretty awesome. Did you see the clip from The View this week where Barbara Walters gave P.D. some serious sass for making kids fat? Heh.

  3. This is my first comment – love the blog! I ran the Tunnel to Towers 5K this morning in the pouring rain – it was crazy! Love that t-shirt, very cute :)

  4. fabulous weekend of running – although you won’t run the NYC marathon this year, i think that’s great the decision you made and you will be even MORE excited next year!

    french toast casserole? that is right up my alley. faboosh swag bags at the benefit too…looks like so much fun! enjoy your sunday girl :)

  5. The CPTC looks fabulous! Awesome loot! Your Sunday sounds perfect.

  6. The french toast looks so awesome! I need to try that recipe!

  7. i want to run in central park so bad! One day! Your french toast looks awesome!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  8. so many good things – i love french toast – especially on thick, fresh, whole wheat bread! and those bars are sketchy with their ingredients!

Leave a Reply

