Another one bites the dust

Have you ever seen that episode of Sex & the City where Carrie’s computer dies and she freaks out? Yep, that was me on Sunday night. My 2.25 yr old Apple Mac Book was running a little bit slower than usual, but other than that everything was A-OK. Then in the middle of writing an email I got the “spinning color wheel of death” and was unable to force quit. I shut down, but only saw a scary blinking file folder/question mark upon restart. After 2 frustrating hours of trying to re-install the operating system software, run disk utilities, and re-setting the PRAM I still had no result.

I was lucky enough to snag a 1pm appointment with the Apple genius bar in SoHo the next day (usually you have to wait a few days for an appt), but the Mac tech had some bad news for me: “Your hard-drive failed and we can’t recover the data”. Uggggh. I could have replaced the hard-drive for a couple hundred dollars, but I put a lot of wear and tear on my laptop these past few years and I was worried that I’d have to buy a new machine in a few months anyway.

Soooo….I bit the bullet and left the store with a brand new Mac Book Pro (plus 3 years of Apple care extended warranty!). This was a pretty hefty investment and my bank account is NOT happy right now, but a laptop is essential to my life  and I know I’ll get my money’s worth. However, I’m going to be watching my budget veryyyy carefully over the next few monthes. It’s a good thing I like pb&j!

Photo courtesy of my cell phone camera. Can’t believe I just bought a new laptop.  Ahhhh!

Mac Book Pro

Anyway, here’s hoping Tuesday will be a better (and less expensive day)! I started the morning off with my usual cup of coffee and a mini lemon zest luna bar. I love the little snack size bars!

luna bar

About 7:30am, Alma and I headed out for a run in Central Park. The weather was a bit chilly, but once we started to sweat the breeze felt nice. My legs felt pretty stiff (between Saturday and Sunday I ran 17 miles…), but otherwise I felt OK. We finished our 8 mile run in 1 hour, 13 minutes (a bit over 9:00/mile pace).

After a bit of foam rolling and the quickest shower ever, it was off to work!

Gulped lots of water on the subway and then threw together a quick breakfast at my desk: a container of Stonyfield plain yogurt, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/2 banana, and a cup or so of Kashi cinnamon Heart-2-Heart.

Yogurt and Heart-2-Heart

Plus, an adora calcium supplement! I don’t always mention it, but I usually have two of these 500mg calcium + vitamin D + vitamin K supplements per day. Tastes just like chocolate :-)

Adora calcium disks

A visit from Mr. Softee – A miraculous milkshake?

From the NY Times: Probiotics, Health or Hype?

Attention New Yorker readers: Would you be interested in meeting up on Saturday evening?? Assuming I survive the 1/2 marathon that morning, I have a little event planned for the evening hours:-)

Send me an email: runnerskitchen@gmail.com

14 Responses

  1. ahhhh congrats on the new computer! sometimes its just better to suck it up and buy new when it costs just as much to repair.

    i wish i could meet up with you :( good luck on the 1/2 girl – i will be cheering you on!

    lotsa love!

  2. my hard drive crashed twice in 2 years and i stupidly had nothing backed up either times. thankfully the mac people were nice and replaced it for free both times, even when i was no longer under warranty. your new computer looks so awesome though, i’m jealous :)

  3. wow- do i know how you feel. my 2 yr old mac’s hard drive crashed yesterday. i too saw the question mark folder of death.

  4. I never watched Sex & the City but I saw that one episode that you’re referring to. Bummer about you old laptop.Congrats on the new one!

  5. Oh yeah, I remember that SATC episode well. So sorry you had to go through that hell! At least you’re back up and running now. Pun intended.

  6. I’m so sorry about your computer, that’s so frustrating! I have the same Mac you just purchased and absolutely LOVE it if that’s any consolation! I might be interested in a meet-up Saturday, I’ll shoot you an email:)

  7. You will atleast get a lot of use out of the lap top! it’s not money wasted!

  8. Mini Luna Bars–I had no idea! I need to track those down!!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  9. Nice computer! I really want to get a Mac when my current laptop dies.

    I would love to be able to meet up but I’m out of town this weekend. Next time you plan something, I’m in!

    good luck on the half!

  10. love the new computer. trust me i know how that goes!!!!!

    your gonna rock that half girl! I’ll be cheering you on :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  11. Gah! Expensive stuff like that is always such a killer! Especially when it’s out of the blue!
    So exciting that your half is this weekend – I feel like loads of people have races this weekend! Good luck – I’m excited to read your re-cap already :)

  12. […] Posted on September 30, 2009 by runnerskitchen Legs were feeling decent after Tuesday morning’s 8-miler and I stretched them out even more by taking a little walk to Central Park on my lunch break. My […]

  13. Both Nick and I running this. Maybe we’ll see you there and/or Saturday night.

  14. Yes, you should stop by our party on Saturday evening! We’re going to have a lot of food and wine, so feel free to bring your other roommates, etc.

    Good luck tomorrow, Megan

Leave a Reply

