Early Morning Spin Class

Yikes, this week has been crazy so far. I tried something new on Monday and ate breakfast at home (instead of at the office). It made for a very relaxed morning, but I’m usually too rushed to do this. I started off with the usual 1/2 cup of coffee and 2 slices of whole wheat toast topped with peanut butter, sliced banana, and a drizzle of honey.

PB & Banana

Since it was Monday (blah), I decided to treat myself to a cafeteria salad (will pack my lunch tomorrow!). It was delicious and I enjoyed it in the bright sunshine :-)

salad

  • romaine, arugula, red onion, mushrooms, shredded carrots
  • roasted acorn and butternut squash
  • chickpeas
  • feta cheese
  • sprinkle of cranberries, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

And BBQ popchips!

popchips

Afternoon snack was a strawberry Stonyfield Farm yogurt with a serving of Newman’s honey wheat pretzels mixed in. Salty and sweet! And the Newman’s Own pretzels have 3g of fiber per serving, I approve.

Stonyfield Farm yogurt

I ended up leaving the office kind of late. I contemplated skipping the gym (legs still a little sore), but I thought some easy elliptical might relieve some of the day’s stress. After 30 easy minutes on the elliptical, my mind felt a little clearer and my muscles weren’t as tight. After running a few errands and doing a million dishes (yay, our hot water is back!), it was time for dinner. After I plated everything I realized how random it looks…will be more creative soon!

Sunshine falafel burger topped with spicy hummus and gouda, steamed spinach, a seed flat bread, and BRIE (!!).

dinner

I enjoyed a little GLEE  with gelato + cookie for dessert :-)

Cookies and gelato

I was up and at ’em early on Tuesday – I had plans for a 7:15am spinning class. As I waited for the 2/3 train (please ignore the dirty subway platform), I sipped some coffee and half of a lara bar. Umm, no photo of the lara bar because my hands were carrying about 8 different bags (lunch box, purse, gym bag, etc).

early morning subway commute

I made it to the gym in time for class and spinned away for 45 minutes – I was surprised at how much fun I had! Usually I get whiney about cross-training, but any class that starts with Katy Perry’s “I Kissed A Girl” and ends with Bon Jovi’s “Shot Through the Heart” just has to be a good time :-)

I finished up with 20 minutes on the elliptical (morning news watching!) and some stretching.

After my early morning workout, I was ready to devour breakfast – overnight pumpkin oatmeal!

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup Stonyfield plain oikos greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • splash of milk
  • 5 prunes & 5 chopped pecans
  • drizzle of maple syrup
  • A LOT of cinnamon (and a pinch of ginger & nutmeg)

pumpkin oatmeal

I was good  (aka economical) today and packed my lunch: an apple, two slices of Nature’s Pride whole wheat bread, spicy hummus, brie, gouda, and spinach. Simple, but yum.

sandwich

Salt & Pepper pistachios for a snack:

pistachios

Now I just have to make it through the rest of the afternoon – I have a press pass to a fun event this evening!

Noteworthy:

Check out this slideshow of Autumn’s best produce picks.

Is barefoot running the next BIG thing?

And finally, check out my interview at RunAbroad.com – Yay!

8 Responses

  1. I don’t know how people do barefoot running. I wear shoes and my feet still feel pounded

  2. I LOVE gelato! Last night I tried Ciao Bella’s Key Lime Graham and it was HEAVEN. I highly recommend it!!

  3. I shudder to think what time you had to get up to make that spinning class! But getting your sweat on is such a great way to start the day – there’s no two ways about it!
    I would find it so hard to resist your work’s salad bar. I pack my lunch every single day, mainly to be economical but also to be healthier – god knows what I would end up eating otherwise!!

    Oh and more brie? Just to make me jealous? Droool.

  4. ahhhh your salad looks AMAZING! and early morning spin – i need to get in a habit of that. i love the pretzel yog combo, and the fact you watched GLEE. i am OBSESSED.

  5. Great job getting to that early spin class! What an awesome way to start the day!

    That pic of you with all of your bags made me laugh because I swear I’m constantly lugging around a million bags, with at least one of them devoted to snacks!

  6. I love spinning! I go to a 5:45 am one once in a while but my regular class is at 9:30am.

    Glad you got to have breakfast at home! :-)

  7. Your sandwich looks amazing! Love the simplicity and the BRIE! Omg I haven’t had that in such a long time. So so good. :)

  8. Dude, that overnight oats combo is a seriously good idea.

Leave a Reply

