Pumpkin Swirl and Butternut Squash

Highlights of my Saturday so far:

1) Having a conversation about track & field with the homeless guy who hangs out on my block.

2) Finally killing the mosquito who’s been feasting on me all week.

I started the morning with a quick trip to DD for a latte lite (ahhh, newest obsession!) and some breakfast: TJ’s honey greek yogurt, grapes, and Kashi warm cinnamon Heart-2-Heart. I had quite a few handfuls of cereal straight out of the box after I finished my initial bowl.

Latte Lite

After I finished my breakfast, I started to prepare the dough for some delicious Pumpkin Swirl Bread. I based this recipe on MeganNerdRun’s version, but made a few alterations.

Ingredients:

Dough

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of ginger & nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 package (1/4 oz) active dry yeast
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten

Filling

  • 2 Tbs butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Instructions:

  • In a large bowl, combine 1 cup of the all-purpose flour, ww flour, oats, brown sugar, spices, salt, sugar, and yeast.
  • Stir in the warm water and pumpkin until moistened. Add egg, mix until smooth.
  • Stir in the remaining 1 cup flour until the dough is firm.
  • Put dough in stand mixer and knead using dough hook for about 5 minutes. Place dough in lightly oiled bowl, cover with dishcloth, and let rise for 1 hour.
  • Spray the counter lightly with cooking spray and roll out the dough to a 18″ x 9″ rectangle.
  • Spread the melted butter on the dough and then sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar.
  • Roll up the dough jelly-roll style, starting with the short side. Pinch ends to seal.
  • Place seam side down in loaf pan, cover and let rise for 90 minutes.
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

Dough Rising

Rolling out the dough

During the 90 minute second rising, I headed out for a long run. I didn’t feel awesome, but the weather was ideal (sunny, breezy, and 60 degrees). My legs are STILL feeling the effects of last Saturday and my right knee/hamstring were a bother, but I was feeling great mentally by the end of my 10 mile run (finished in 1:30:10, about 9:01/mile). I think I’m going to take it easy for the next few weeks – lots of sleep, lots of cross-training, and lower running mileage. Hopefully that will put some pep back into my legs!

When I got home, propped my legs up against the wall while I waited for the oven to pre-heat. I’ve found that this trick really helps with circulation/muscle recovery.

And then I popped the bread in the oven. 30 minutes later…

Pumpkin Swirl Bread

I was very pleased with the consistency of this loaf – the middle was perfectly light and doughy with a nice crust on the outside.

Pumpkin Swirl Bread

Mmm….a thick slice of pumpkin swirl bread with peanut butter!

Pumpkin Swirl Bread

After finishing up the bread, I was ready for some more post-run food!

A big bowl of brown rice, pinto beans, roasted butternut squash, and a wedge of laughing cow cheese.

Butternut Squash

Rice & Beans & Squash

Now I’m watching a few Mad Men episodes and preparing for a fun dinner in Williamsburg.

Hope your Saturday is going well!

11 Responses

  1. The inside looks so nice and airy!

  2. wow super recipe! check out my baking blog and tell me what you think: http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

  3. Looks really delicious ..
    Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  4. This bread looks awesome! :) Great job on that 10 mile run. i have a 10 miler to accomplish this afternoon! I’m so nervous, but if you can do it so can i!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. The bread looks delicious! And what’s in a DD latte lite? Skim milk? Is it better than Starbucks?

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  6. I think the difference between a latte lite and a nonfat latte at DD is that latte lites have splenda in them. Right? I’ve never gotten a latte lite.

    Your bread looks fabulous!!

    If you’re interested, I’m having a Newman’s Own Organics Giveaway on my blog: http://roseyrebecca.com/2009/10/10/pb-love-and-newmans-own-organics-giveaway/

    :-)

  7. Hmm, I think latte lites and non-fat lattes at DD are essentially the same thing. The latte lites do usually come with splenda, but you can request regular sugar (or no sweetener). I think they’re really yummy and only $1.99 at the DD location near me!

  8. […] & yellow cherry tomatoes, and pancetta afumicata a top wood-fired crust. I was hungry after my 10-miler, so I put a pretty big dent into this pie, but we all agreed that Motorino was a bit too […]

  9. […] was the remainder of the pumpkin swirl bread topped with greek yogurt and pumpkin butter. Mmm, […]

  10. Thanks for the great recipe! I don’t have a big loaf pan, so I prepared the dough like I would cinnamon or caramel rolls — came out with about 18 that way. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, maple extract and a little milk and used that on about half — the rest I left plain. They’re good either way, especially after a long weekend run.

  11. wow, i never even thought about making these into cinnamon roll shapes. great idea!

Leave a Reply

