Chobani Greek Yogurt

First things, first – I wrote a guest post today for Angharad’s  Eating for England blog. You know you want to see more photos of those half-pound cookies I like. Mmm. And if that isn’t enough to sway you, the recipes that our English lady friend whips up are always amazing – check out her posh mac ‘n cheese dish. Swoon.

True to my word, I decided to tie on my baking apron last night. I had a big bag of Farmer’s Market apples that were just calling my name.

Apples

Megan’s Maple-Cinnamon Apple Crisp

Ingredients:

  • 6 large apples, sliced thinly
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tbs butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • another 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  • Toss the apples with maple syrup and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and place in a lightly greased 8×8″ baking dish
  • Mix together the ww flour, oats, brown sugar, and second 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Using the tines of two forks (or just use your fingers) cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly
  • Top the apples with the crumbly mixture and bake for about 30 minutes at 350 F
  • Note: My oven is super hot, so you might need to bake your apple crisp for a little longer.
  • Enjoy!

Apple Crisp

This recipe is so healthy (whole wheat flour, oats, apples!) that you could eat it for breakfast. Actually, today I did just that.

But first, I started off with some coffee to-go, a few dried plums, and a still-dark commute to the gym. I do not like waking up before the sun.

Prunes

I hit up a 7:15am spinning class (the music was only half as good as Tuesday) and then finished with a speedy 3 mile run (finished the last 400m or so around 7:00/mile pace). Pheww.

Busy morning at work, breakfast was eaten in parts.

Breakfast #1: Chobani peach greek yogurt

Chobani

Actually, yesterday I received a whole CASE of these little babies. Including the elusive pineapple flavor. Hooray! It’s (almost) better than Christmas. Do you want some of your own FREE greek yogurt? There might be a give-a-way waiting for you at the end of this post….

Chobani

Breakfast #2:

Apple crisp with (another) dollop of greek yogurt

Apple Crisp

Lunch was the LAST of the coconut cauliflower curry. This was delicious, but cooking for one person means eating leftovers for days on end. Yeesh.

Leftover curry

I’m sure I’ll need a lot of mini peanut butter cups a healthy snack between now and the fun pizza dinner that I have planned….stay tuned!

I just found this great new recipe site called FunnySpoon. Bonus: the site offers coupons on featured ingredients. Two of my fav recipes: Halloweenies and 1-2-3 cookie bars.

Live in NYC? Check out the upcoming Boho Bodega where you can purchase “green” products at wallet-friendly discounts. All proceeds from the store will benefit the non-profit New York Council on the Environment.

Pumpkin, Fennel, and Grapes – Check out this Autumn shopping list for more seasonal favorites!

And now…..a fun give-a-way!! I eat greek yogurt almost every day (love all the extra protein) and Chobani has graciously offered to send a reader some samples of their very own.

Here’s what you have to do:

1) Go to the Chobani website and take a look around.

2) Leave a comment telling me what new flavor of Chobani yogurt you’d like to see.

3) Get an extra chance at winning by linking to my give-a-way on your own blog and leaving a second comment telling me that you did so.

You have until noon on Friday, October 16th to enter. I’ll choose the most creative/yummy flavor then! Note: Must be a U.S. resident to win.

Ok. Ready? Set? Go!!

78 Responses

  1. in honor of fall, i say pumpkin pie flavor! yum

  2. I thought of pumpkin spice too but for summer raspberry w dark chocolate would be delicious!

    Oh! or a cranberry for thanksgiving time!!

  3. chocolate hazelnut chobani!! it would be like eating protein-packed nutella. a dream come true!

  4. Great guest post! I will tell the Levain Bakery owners that you mentioned their cookies:)

  5. Creme brulee – rich, creamy, and smooth.

    :-)

  6. I’d say…raspberry!! or apple cinnamon!

  7. cinnamon raisin could be potentially delicious!

  8. Cookies N Cream

  9. This would be a seasonal flavor, but I think maple cinnamon chestnut would be DIVINE!!!!

  10. I’d love to see a Blackberry flavor…with big chunks of berries mmm.

  11. i would LURVE LURVE LURVE to see a raspberry flavor. raspberry is da besssstttttt!

  12. I would love to see a cinnamon flavor.

  13. A mango flavor would be delicious since I’m already a big fan of their pineapple flavor.

  14. I would love to see cherry!

  15. i’d love to see a raspberry or mango flavored chobani:)

  16. either apple crisp (apple + walnut + cinnamon) or peach raspberry would be divine

  17. OMG, that looks SO good. I already had a sweet craving, and now it’s definitely worse than ever!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  18. banana FOR SURE!

  19. honey-sweetened fig rasberry! I LOVE figs!!!

  20. I’d love to see a maple flavor! So yummy and so perfectly seasonal.

  21. oooh pumpkin!

    but then again, i think i’d go for just about anything pumpkin flavored :)

  22. I would have to say dark chocolate. It would be even better if it could have peanut butter in with it. Dark chocolate and pb, what more could you ask for!! :)

  23. I’d have to go with pumpkin or an apple cinnamon!! Thanks for the awesome giveaway:)

  24. hmmm. i think a good flavor- MOCHA almond!

    oh like custard!

    key lime!

  25. Coconut, with greek yogurt’s creaminess it would taste just like coconut pie!!!

  26. I’d love to see a cranberry apple flavor! I love the tangy flavors this time of year!

  27. I would love to see a raspberry flavor!

    Chobani greek yogurt is my favorite. I eat it practically every morning for breakfast with granola and fruit.

  28. my vote, for sure would be for an apple flavor. the texture of the greek yogurt + cinnamon + pecans, served over oatmeal would help make getting up before the sun just a little bit easier!

    or a combo such as maple/pumpkin/walnut would be equally as inspiring to help get moving. mmm omega 3’s…. the breakfast of champions!

  29. How about a mix of tropical fruits? Mango, pineapple….yum!!

  30. A Smores Chobani would be amazing with dark chocolate, graham cracker, and vanilla Chobani.

  31. […] Check out Megan’s Chobani giveaway. […]

  32. i would LOVE to try the pineapple!
    jenna

  33. i think they should come up with a mixed berry chobs yog!
    jenna

  34. I would like a vanilla-plum flavor, in 2% yogurt – that extra fat makes all the difference in flavored yogurts.

  35. mentioned your giveaway in my post!
    jenna

    http://jennaelise.blogspot.com/

  36. I definitely want to see banana, but I think pear might be yummy too!

  37. I’d vote for a Pumpkin Spice Chobani OR Mango Chobani!

  38. Ooh, your apple crisp looks amazing! And I’d love to see a chocolate chobani flavor, or something like chocolate strawberry. Mmmm!

  39. other people have said this, but since it’s fall, i can’t resist–a pumpkin pie flavor would be amaaazing!

  40. probably some type of lemon curd flavor! lemon is so refreshing and i think any type of fruit or granola would pair nicely with it :)
    oooh maybe a hint of coconut? how perfect would lemon cocnut be with a few bits of peppermint bark crushed in?!

  41. I would love to see either a Key Lime flavor something chocolate related… maybe boston creme pie!

  42. […] at Runner’s Kitchen there is a attractive looking recipe for Megan’s Maple-Cinnamon Apple Crisp, which could easily […]

  43. Chobani is my favorite!!! I’d love to see a Banana flavor!

  44. honey and fig chobani. such a greek combo!

  45. Inspired by your recipe, a maple-cinnamon flavor sounds delicious!

  46. I posted about your giveaway on my blog tonight!

  47. I generally add Lemon Curd to my plain greek yogurt, so I would LOVE to see a Lemon flavor. It’s always so refreshing, and satisfying on its own– no need to add anything else! :)

  48. Um I’d love to see some sort of coffee flavored one!

  49. Oh scratch that – I did’t know you were looking for the most CREATIVE! I’d have to go with Banana Cream Pie :-)

  50. wow, there are some brilliant ideas up there. I will go with a nut-butter flavor, or maybe caramel.

    i want some chobani sooooo bad!!!!!!!!

  51. Plum!! I’ve never seen plum-flavored anything, let alone awesome yogurt!

  52. I would love a lemon-lime type flavor!

  53. i think a good holiday flavor would be something like roasted maple chestnut or a pumpkin gingerbread!!!

  54. I just mentioned your post on my blog! Happy Friday!

  55. How about some sort of gingersnap/chestnut flavor combo for winter? That would be a great way to “warm up” my favorite cold treat!

  56. I would love to see a passion fruit Greek yogi flavor!

  57. I would love to see a passion fruit Greek yogi flavor!!!

  58. A lemon flavored Chobani… I have loved lemon yogurt since I was about two – it is still my FAVORITE!

  59. Call me crazy, but I love coffee yogurt. Protein packed breakfast with caffeine already IN IT?? A winner.

  60. This might sound odd but I want a fig flavor!

  61. Chobani does make a great product. I met one of their representatives at the Natural Products Expo in Boston. Call me boring, but I tend to like their plain yogurt, which I sweeten with a little honey. I know they have a honey flavor. I just like to add it myself. A creamy coffee flavor should be added to their arsenal.

  62. I’d love to try Chobani, I can’t find any around where I live. They all look so good, but the Honey and Pomegranate sing out to me the most. I’ve also heard the Pineapple is really good too…..

  63. Yummmm, apple crisp! I’ve got to remember to make that now that its getting cooler out :)

  64. Key Lime or Lemon, although Green Tea might be interesting (I do love Pinkberry….)!

  65. I’d have to say that a chocolate flavor would be delicious!

  66. Now that you’ve posted a recipe for apple crisp, I think an apple crisp flavor would be wonderful – just add granola!! ;-)

  67. mango chobani would be awesome!!

    or cinnamon apple with chunks of apple in there yummm!!

    great giveaway! :)

  68. yum, some sort of lime flavor – like key lime pie! it would be so thick, just like the filling!

  69. I would LOVE to see a banana cream pie flavored chobani!! sprinkle some ground flax over it as a “mock” crust? delish!!

  70. […] I cuddled up under a blanket, popped in season 1 of Mad Men, and enjoyed another helping of my Maple-Cinnamon Apple Crisp. With a dollop of yogurt, of course! The greek yogurt is such a great sub for whipped cream […]

  71. […] was some leftover apple crisp (last bit!) and a vanilla chobani greek […]

  72. great giveaway! i’d love lemon or lime flavor.

  73. […] and found a few apples that were also nearing the end of their edibility.  I had found a recipe on Megan’s blog a few weeks ago that I had wanted to try and tonight was the […]

  74. […] at Runner’s Kitchen is having an awesome Chobani Giveaway.  Chobani is by far my favorite Greek yogurt, so you should go check it […]

Leave a Reply

