Record Time

 I was up and at ’em around 7:30am on Sunday. No sleeping in for me – I wanted to enjoy every minute of my weekend!

First things, first: I headed to Dunkin’ Donuts for a 99 cent latte lite. Yay for special deals!

morning latte

I spent some time chatting with my family and then made them eggs in a hole for breakfast. I think they enjoyed it!

Then I set about making my own morning meal: pear-peanut butter cup oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk, 1/2 cup water
  • chopped bosc pear
  • 1 Tbs dark chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbs whipped peanut butter (I think they discontinued this!)

oatmeal

 pear and peanut butter cup oatmeal

‘Twas lovely. I let the oats digest for a few hours while I caught up on emails and did a little work on the blog. Around noon I set off for a run. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel since I’d doubled yesterday, but my legs held up pretty well. I started off super slow (as usual), but picked it up towards the end. In the last 2 miles I played around with some fartlek intervals. Fartlek is a Swedish word that means “speed play” . For example, yesterday I sprinted to the blue house down the block and then resumed normal pace for a few minutes. Then I picked it up again until I hit another landmark (mailbox on the corner). This is a fun, no pressure way to do some speedwork! I ended up running about 6.5 miles in 58 minutes.

And then I arrived home to this:

cookies

My mom had baked chocolate chip cookies, so of course I had to have one straight out of the oven! Mom uses salted butter when she bakes and I loved the sweet & salty combo of these cookies. Mmmm…

And then I had a glass of  OJ (for hydration + nutrients!):

OJ

Followed by some cottage cheese (protein + calcium!) and an unpictured bite of banana covered with peanut butter.

cottage cheese

After showering, it was time to visit some relatives. Sunday was supposed to be cold and snowy (!!), but it actually turned out to be a beautiful fall day. I had a little photo shoot amongst the Autumn leaves in front of my Aunt’s house.

Autumn Leaves

Dinner contained vegetables (finally!). I ordered the veggie delight from Subway and loaded it up with: spinach, tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, olives, jalapenos, banana peppers, green peppers, swiss cheese, and sweet onion sauce on a whole wheat roll. With an unsweetened iced tea and some sunchips for crunch!

Veggie Delight

And then a tiny sliver of pumpkin pie + whipped cream for dessert (x2!)

pumpkin pie

I had planned on taking the 7pm bus back to the city, but my mom is the BEST EVER and suggested that she drive me back instead. We got really lucky and hit zero traffic. Door-to-door, the entire trip took 2.5 hours. That’s a record! Thanks Mom :-)

By the time I got back to my apartment it was 9:30pm and I was feeling a little hungry. It was definitely time for more pie! It’s a good thing my family helped to devour this thing, otherwise I’m pretty sure I might eat it all by myself. It’s THAT good.

apple pie

I had a really fun weekend with A LOT of desserts, but I enjoyed every bit (and bite). It seemed like a mini vacation! Now it’s Monday and I’m back to the grind…

Question: What’s the best part about Mondays for you? For me, it’s the promise of a new Gossip Girl episode!

10 Responses

  1. Usually the best part of Monday for me is getting back into the daily swing and Heroes at night, but this Monday I just have a case of the blues after my teachers reminded me of my midterms

  2. OMG a new Gossip Girl episode totally gets me through the day too! That show is totally my guilty pleasure.

  3. I had pear oats this morning too!

    P.s. do you want to have a hot yoga date soon??

  4. The best part of Monday for me is getting home early. Of course that means I have to come in earlier but by the time I leave I’ve forgotten that!

  5. Pies are always a good choice :-) I wish we had a Dunkin Donuts! 99 cent latte?! Steal!

  6. Hmmmm that pie looks delish!

    I can’t believe you ran 6.5 miles the DAY after a double! You rock!

  7. Oh, I want those cookies! Nothing is better than ‘Mom’s’ Home-made cookies :)…I also have a couple of cans of pumpkin and think I know what I want to do with them now haha!!

  8. Kristen,

    Yes, hot yoga soon! Maybe end of this week or beginning of next?

  9. home is the best! i love going home and having my mom feed me!

  10. Cookies out of the oven – yummy! I have burnt my mouth many a times doing that – I never learn!!!!

Leave a Reply

