Speedy Wednesday

Thank you for all the well wishes on the new True/Slant endeavor! Matt and I are both really excited :-) If you haven’t read our first piece, check it out!

So remember yesterday when I said I’d probably need a snack? Well, actually I needed 3!

Homemade trail mix (pretzel nuggets, chocolate chips, cranberries, pecans) around 2pm:

trail mix

1 cup of Heritage Heirloom whole grain flakes at 4pm:

Heritage heirloom whole grain

And a luna bar before I left the office (I just could not get full yesterday afternoon!):

luna bar

After some errands, I got busy in the kitchen. I had a package of tofu that needed to be used up ASAP, so I after pressing out some of the water (put the tofu on an inverted plate and place a heavy pot on top), I marinated the slices in a mixture of canola oil (1 tsp), soy sauce (2 Tbs), maple syrup (1 Tbs), salt and pepper. As I was waiting for the tofu to soak up all the yummy sauce, I cleaned up a sweet potato + brussel sprouts and tossed them in a mixture of 1 Tbs canola oil + 2 Tbs maple syrup. I arranged the tofu and veggies on a baking sheet and popped it into a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes (flipping everything after 10 minutes).

marinated tofu

sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts

All together (with a splash of red wine!):

Pictures 014

tofu, sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts

While I was prepping dinner, I also put together some baked apples. I cored 3 Macoun apples and filled each one with: tsp butter, Tbs maple syrup, sprinkle of cranberries + pecans, and a dash of cinnamon. I baked the apples in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes or so (until fork tender). I enjoyed one as a healthy dessert :-)

baked apples

Besides a delicious (veggie-packed) dinner, the best thing to happen to me yesterday was a shipment of 14 (yes, 14!) cookbooks compliments of fellow-foodie and blogger Matt (find him @ EatWithMe).  I’m super excited about all the vegetarian volumes and the Pie cookbook is just calling my name. Yay. Thanks Matt!

cookbooks

cookbooks

This morning, I woke up early, early with plans to complete a speedy workout (my first one in awhile!). I started off with a banana and half decaf coffee. The usual.

Quick breakfast

I wanted to be sure of my pace throughout the workout and the weather was pouring rain, so I opted to run on the treadmill. This might sound strange, but when I’m doing speed workouts, I kind of like the treadmill. It helps me stay super focused.

I got the inspiration for this workout from Runner’s World:

The Speed Demon Workout (appropriately named for Halloween week,  eh?)

I warmed up easily for 2 miles (9:15 pace) and dropped the pace a bit for the 3rd mile (8:30 pace). Then it was time for the intervals!

For miles 4 thought 6, I ran 4 x 3-minute repeats at 6:55 pace alternating with 3 minutes easy running (9:15 pace). I finished up with a mile cool-down (9:15 pace).

Total: 7 miles in 1 hour, 7 seconds.

After I finished I was a sweaty mess, but luckily my gym keeps a mini fridge stocked with towels soaked in lavender water. Oh my goodness, that cold towel was SO refreshing. What a wonderful idea!

After I finished up in the locker room, I braved the rain + wind and headed to the Jamba Juice near my office. I had a coupon and I redeemed for some steel cut oats with blueberry topping and brown sugar. Yum, Yum. Steel cut oats are less processed than instant and old-fashioned oats, so they take longer to digest (i.e. you feel full longer!).

steelcut oats

And later on, I sipped a (NOT decaf) cappuccino and some dried fruit (energy!) because my early morning was making me quite sleepy:

Cappuccino

Dried fruit

Questions:

1) What’s your go-to gym bag snack? I’ve been really liking prunes/dried fruit lately. Antioxidants + long shelf life + instant sugar = excellent!

2) Do you have a favorite cookbook? I really enjoy the Mollie Katzen/Moosewood Cookbook series, but I’m excited to test out the newbies I just received!

18 Responses

  1. this morning my go-to was 2 pitted medjool dates stuffed with a brazil nut. the combo of high glycemic carbs with a little protein and fat kept me going for 35 minutes on the elliptical followed by an hour long strength training sesh!

  2. The pie cookbook is very good! I love it. I wish I had a cookbook fairy!

  3. I love prunes! Everyone tells me I am an old lady when I eat them. Glad to see others enjoying! For the gym I usually have 1/2 a Clif bar or some other sort of bar with nuts in it. Carbs+protein+fat+sugar keeps me going!

  4. I love dried apricots! they are my favorite!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. So jealous of your cookbooks, that’s awesome! :)

  6. Please be sure to let us know which cookbooks are your favorites when you get to reading them! I’m always interested in cookbook reviews!

  7. Your gym has towels with lavender water? they pamper you :-P

  8. Haha. Yes, Equinox is pretty swanky. It’s a good thing I prefer pb&j over filet mignon!

    I think you could probably make your own refreshing towel – soak a handtowel in a bowl of water and a few drops of essential oil (like lavender or peppermint). Wring out the towel, roll it up, and place it in the fridge. So refreshing after a sweaty run! Althought this probably works best in the hotter months…

  9. An apple is usually my pre-gym snack. And I don’t have any favorite cookbooks, but there are some great healthy recipes in Bethenny Frankel’s book, Naturally Thin. Have you read it? (Probably not because you’re already thin, haha). Anyway, here is a quick and tasty tofu recipe from her book in case you ever need it!

    The Idiot-Proof Tofu Salad Sandwich:

    -7 ounces of firm tofu, drained and mashed with a fork (Nasoya brand)
    -1 tsp of Dijon mustard
    -1 tsp of regular or low-fat mayonnaise
    -3/4 tsp of Spike seasoning (can be found at Whole Foods, or pepper works fine)

    Combine ingredients and spread over a toast or a bagel, and add a piece of cheese on top. YUM!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  10. Haha, “The Joy of Pickling”…that’d make a great wedding present for Jesse. Don’t fear the regift.

  11. Yum, those baked apples look delish! My favorite go-to gym bag snack would probably be a Clif Z-Bar or a banana, nothing too creative;)

    We should totally meet at Community Food and Juice one day!

  12. holy speed demon woman! that 7 miles is amazing. and so is that stack of cookbooks. you definitely have enough reading material to keep you busy – enjoy your night :)

  13. I definitely have to try that tofu recipe – looks much better than any of my attempts.
    I did have a very similar apple dessert yesterday though (you can check it out.)
    Amazing speed work – I’m a new runner, but I’m really trying to get faster these days.

  14. Thanks for mentioning the site, Megan! I hope you do enjoy the cookbooks. Unfortunately, our servers were down yesterday so anyone who tried visiting saw a really old version of eatwithme.com. Come back now! We’re trying to keep the content fresh.

    I’m working in marketing/sales/publicity at Harvard Common Press in Boston and anyone who is interested in reviewing a cookbook for their blog should go ahead and send me an email matt@eatwithme.com and I’ll send a copy…. maybe not as many as I sent Megan, but she gets special treatment as a fellow Wesleyan grad!

    The Moosewood cookbooks are awesome. I’m also a fan of Mark Bittman’s work. And, Alice Water’s The Art of Simple Food. I’ve gotten to the point where I’ve used so many cookbooks that I couldn’t possibly pick a favorite. You should see my bookshelf.

  15. Wow…those lavender towels make me want to upgrade from NYSC!!!

    I LOVE interval workouts on the treadmill. They make it WAY less boring.

    As for cookbooks, Culinary Institute of America Baking at Home is amazing! It gives such nice descriptions and explanations, and everything I’ve made has been great. Plus, the pictures are gorgeous.

  16. […] 29, 2009 by runnerskitchen Phew, these last few days have been busy! Since I left the house early yesterday morning, I didn’t have time to pack lunch. Luckily I was able to find a veggie-packed meal without […]

  17. I’m looking for a new go-to sandwich to pack for lunch. This sounds so good! I bet I could add chopped celery, dried cranberries, etc.

  18. […] ended up spending nearly 4 hours in the kitchen. And I really enjoyed it! Ever since I received my shipment of fun cookbooks last week (thanks again Matt!), I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to make first. I love […]

Leave a Reply

