Running Machine

Phew, these last few days have been busy! Since I left the house early yesterday morning, I didn’t have time to pack lunch. Luckily I was able to find a veggie-packed meal without even leaving my office building.

  • romaine, red onions, mushrooms, shredded carrots
  • roasted cauliflower & bell pepper
  • sprinkle of feta cheese, cranberries, pumpkin seeds, and croutons
  • spoonful of black bean & corn salad
  • spoonful of farro & almond salad
  • spoonful of mediterranean bulgar wheat
  • Tbs balsamic vinaigrette

salad lunch

I LOVE when my salads contain a bajillion different ingredients :-) I had a diet crack coke and some sunchips on the side.

Lunch was on the later side (nearly 3pm!), so I didn’t need a snack before I left the office. Around 6pm the rain finally started letting up and I was able to enjoy an easy 3-mile run through Central Park. Sometimes my brain feels so fried by the end of the day and I just NEED to do some physical activity to put myself in a better state of mind. I finished up with some stretching and foam rolling and then headed home in a much better mood :-)

Din-din was leftover maple syrup roasted sweet potatoes and tofu wrapped up in whole wheat lavash bread. With hot chili sauce. Is that weird? Yeah, probably, but I like my food to have a little kick!

sweet potato wrap

After catching up on some Mad Men (almost done with season 1), I headed to the kitchen for some extra special baking.

I was contacted by the cherry marketing institute the other day about the Red Recovery Routine, developed by world-renowned Sports Nutritionist Lesli Bonci M.P.H. R.D. LDN CSSD.

Check this out:

Recent studies suggest cherries may have powerful pain relief benefits for marathoners and other athletes of all levels.  This research revealed that powerful antioxidants called anthocyanins, which give cherries their bright red color, have anti-inflammatory properties that can help protect muscles and joints even before an athlete laces up, thereby reducing post-exercise pain.

With the fall miles piling up and an upcoming marathon for many, improving post-run recovery seems like a win-win situation!

Using this Smitten Kitchen recipe as inspiration I baked up a batch of Tart Cherry-Dark Chocolate-Coconut-Pecan Blondies.

blondies

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz melted butter (1 stick)
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg (organic if possible)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • dash of salt
  • tsp vanilla extract
  • big handful of each: shredded unsweetened coconut, dark chocolate chips, dried tart cherries, and raw pecans

Directions:

  • Mix together the melted butter and sugar until combined (I used a wooden spoon, but you could probably use a hand mixer)
  • Stir in the egg, salt, vanilla, and flour
  • Add in mix-ins (chocolate chips, etc)
  • Pour batter into a buttered 8″ x 8″ pan and bake for about 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees F.

My “blondies” turned out more like crispy cookie bars, but that’s probably because 1) I don’t like to measure and 2) the temp on my oven is a little off. But don’t worry – these treats were definitely still delicious. I sampled my fair share just to make sure ;-)

If you’re looking for more recipes that use cherries, check out the Choose Cherries recipe index!

I had plans to run with Alma after work tonight (i.e. no early a.m. gym visit), so I was able to get started on a freelance writing assignment. I had almost 2 full hours at home this morning before I had to leave for work. It was kind of weird! I (almost) felt like it was a Saturday or something…

Breakfast:

oikos

Stonyfield Oikos Greek yogurt (plain) along with a VERY ripe banana and a baked apple.

And lunch was eaten at my desk (I think this is going to be the theme for the next few weeks…busy time):

Almond butter, pumpkin butter, and banana on Ezekiel sprouted grain bread

Pictures 005

And two (yes, two) bags of popchips. I’m normally not a fan of “100 calorie packs”, but I give pop chips two thumbs up. Especially the salt & pepper flavor. Mmm.

popchips

Oh yeah, and since it’s Halloween week – a fun size snickers!

snickers

And I’m off – I have plans for a run in Central Park in a bit!

Check out this article from the NY TimesHumans Built for Distance 

So if we’re born to run, why are runners so often injured? A combination of factors is likely to play a role, experts say. Exercise early in life can affect the development of tendons and muscles, but many people don’t start running until adulthood, so their bodies may not be as well developed for distance. Running on only artificial surfaces and in high-tech shoes can change the biomechanics of running, increasing the risks of injury.

Love veggies more: If you like potatoes, you should try sunchokes.

Question: What’s your favorite vegetable? I could eat sweet potatoes and arugula every day!

9 Responses

  1. i bet sitting at a computer for 8+ hrs a day might also be a contributor to runner’s injuries/muscle imbalances, if that is what their job requires them to do.

  2. I love sweet potatos too! Could never get enough
    Dark chocolate and cherry is one of the best combos ever in my opinion. I’m definitely making that recipe

  3. I love peas! Sweet potatoes are excellent too – other faves of mine include brussels sprouts, tomatoes, asparagus and beets.

  4. CARROTS! i eat so many each day is almost sick!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. Thanks for the link to the Cherry info! That yam wrap looks and sounds spectacular. Kick it up, says I.

  6. I read about cherries a few months ago, and I was so happy because I love cherry juice!!

    I really couldn’t live without spinach and garlic (if that is a veggie). My husband loves garlic too luckily, so I’m not the only one with garlic breath!

  7. Those blondies sound and look fantastic. I actually love baking, but I worry about my self control having a whole batch of baked goods in my house… I should just bake for a party or something.

  8. salads with a million ingredients are the ONLY way to go. i love me my junk salads!

    and i love smitten kitchen – deb is a genius!

    fave veggie: sweet potatoes and spinach!

  9. OMG it’s so weird, I realized today that we have a mutual friend, Kari, who used to run for Central Park Track club and trained with Alma. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

