Happy Halloween!

This has got to have been the.longest.week.ever. Thank Goodness It’s Friday!

megan

Friday started off with the usual coffee (1/2 decaf), lots of emails, and a baked apple with vanilla oikos greek yogurt.

baked apple and oikos

Mid-morning snack: Kashi crunchy pumpkin spice granola bar (‘Tis the season for pumpkin after all!)

kashi

I was workin’ like a mad woman trying to get through my to-do list and by the time I looked at the clock, it was already noon. I debated staying put and finishing up a project, but I knew I’d feel better if I got my blood flowing a bit. I hurried to the gym and made it in time for a “spooky cycling” class at 12:15pm. It was awesome! We listened to “The Monster Mash”, “Thriller”, and the theme song from “Ghost Busters” as we pedaled away. I love going to this instructor’s class because i.have.a.huge.crush.on.him.too.bad.he.likes.boys he always plays the best music!

After spin class, I popped into the cafeteria for a salad.

salad

This yummy jumble of flavors included:

  • arugula, mixed greens, carrots, onions, mushrooms
  • feta cheese, cranberries, pumpkin seeds
  • piece of sweet potato
  • spoonful of rice & beans
  • spoonful of pinto bean salad
  • brussel sprouts + roasted apples

And then some salt & pepper popchips (addiction).

pop chips

Even though it was the day before Halloween, my office was seriously lacking in candy, so I ventured to Duane Reade in search of something sweet. I debated getting some candy corn, but instead decided on a box of kudos. I think the last time I had one of these was in the mid-90’s, but it was surprisingly good! I tried the chocolate chip variety (100 cals, 3.5 grams of fat, 3 grams of fiber) and it satisfied my sweet tooth while being a little bit healthier than candy. At least it’s made with whole grains :-)

kudos bar

I chugged water all afternoon in preparation for hot yoga with Agnes and by 6pm I was ready to do some warrior poses in 95 degree+ heat. Really, it’s fun. However, tonight’s class was just so-so. The instructor wasn’t my favorite (I never like the ones that make us do bicycle crunches…), but in the end I’m glad I went!

After I convinced everyone in my subway car that I was a bum (sweaty mess), I arrived home with a mission: quickest dinner ever!

I heated up an Amy’s Kitchen Veggie Tamale dinner and while it does NOT look pretty, it certainly tasted good!

My photo:

Amy's Tamale

Amy’s photo:

Amy's Kitchen

Umm, Amy wins.

And for dessert – 2% Fage greek yogurt with PB2 and tart cherries mixed in.

fage

Ok, that’s it for tonight. Hannah will be arriving via Bolt Bus from Boston any moment! And I haven’t showered yet. Need to hop to it.

In the News:

Something we probably already knew: music makes exercise easier!

Live in New York? Hungry for pumpkin? Check out these local restaurants that are serving up seasonal fare!

Before you dig in to the candy, start your day off right with some high protein pumpkin pancakes. This one’s for you Holly!

Keep Halloween candy portions in check with this tool.

Did you know that trick-or-treating dates back to the middle ages? Find out more Halloween facts here.

Question: What’s your favorite Halloween candy? I love mini snickers bars!

8 Responses

  1. I think I’d melt if I went to a hot yoga class. Kudos to you for sweating it out (no pun intended)

  2. Those pancakes look good! I think I’ll make some for Sunday morning brekkie.

    H =)

  3. TGIF girl! :)

    i think M & M’s are my favorite!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Hahaha, that spinning instructor comment made me guffaw. Too bad he’s on a different “Cycling team.” Sounds like a really fun class though!

    My favorite Halloween candy (besides pretty much all of them) would have to be fun-sized Snickers. I still swear they have sustenance due to the peanut content. I guess that’s just my sweet-tooth rationalization.

  5. I used to love Reeses. Needless to say, I expect lots of Newman’s Own Organic PB Cups tonight :-)

  6. Spooky Cycling sounds like a lot of fun. What a great idea.
    You have me craving baked apples now!
    My fav Halloween candy? Anything with chocolate!!!

    http://islandgirleats.blogspot.com

  7. thanks to your protein pancakes, that title should be all mine :)

  8. mmm amy always wins.

    My favorite halloween candy would have to be mini mars bars or kit kats :)

Leave a Reply

